Regulators, such as funders, insurance providers, contract administrators, and legislative bodies, use COA Accreditation to set the bar for quality service delivery. A recognition is created when an oversight entity, such as a regulator, funder, insurance provider, contract administrator, or legislative body, acknowledges, accepts, or requires the accreditation of an organization or program. The regulator may use accreditation to determine licensing, certification, contracting, or funding, among other things.

By taking advantage of applicable recognitions, human services organizations can realize additional benefits of COA Accreditation.

Benefits to COA Accredited Organizations

Recognitions attest to the trust that regulators put in COA Accreditation. When our accreditation is used as a benchmark, it speaks to the integrity and rigor of our process. The recognitions benefit accredited organizations through:

  • Reduced licensure processes
  • The opportunity to contract with public agencies
  • Higher reimbursement rates, among other things

Types of Recognitions

Deemed Status
Deemed status recognitions allow COA accredited organizations to provide proof of accreditation in lieu of a portion of the review process or an oversight requirement, such as licensure.

Mandate recognition occurs when a funding entity, such as a governmental agency, requires human services providers to become accredited in order to become licensed, to have access to certain types of funding, or to be eligible for governmental contracts.

Sometimes public agencies are also required to seek accreditation. This can be either because of federal or state legislation or regulation, or because of court actions, such as consent decrees. In some cases, the agency might be required to seek accreditation with a specific accreditor; in other cases, accreditation may not be mandated, but the agency uses accreditation to demonstrate its adherence to required legal, regulatory, or judicial requirements.

Quality Rating Improvement Systems/Tiered Reimbursement Systems
States use Quality Rating Systems (QRS), or Quality Rating Improvement Systems (QRIS), to evaluate and easily communicate the performance of child care and youth programs and providers. Under these systems, tiered ratings—such as stars, points, or levels—are established to help consumers, governmental agencies, and other entities easily understand the quality of a program. A higher rating, level, or tier may allow a program to receive higher reimbursement rates, gain access to beneficial community resources, expand opportunities for grants or additional funding, and/or increase its customer base.

Current Recognitions

COA Accreditation is currently recognized by oversight entities in 50 U.S. States and in Canadian territories. Our recognitions continue to grow as more oversight entities use our accreditation as a regulatory tool, and as accredited organization advocate to reduce duplicative oversight. We work with regulators on their behalf.

Disclaimer: The report below is for reference only. Although we have sought to provide accurate information, we suggest you contact the appropriate authority or agency for the most up-to-date information. To report changes, contact us.